The Inaugural Session of the International Auschwitz Council
August 01, 2022

The inaugural session of the fourth term of office of the International Auschwitz Council was held on July 26th at the Chancellery of the Prime Minister in Warsaw. Nominations were handed over to the Council Members by Mateusz Morawiecki, the Prime Minister of the Republic of Poland. Artur Hofman, Chairman of TSKŻ has also become the Council Member.

The role of the International Auschwitz Council is to issue opinions and provide the President of the Council of Ministers with advice as regards preservation and maintenance of the former Nazi death camp Auschwitz-Birkenau and other Monuments of Holocaust. The Council Members are appointed for a 6-year term of office.

Members of the International Auschwitz Council:


– Grzegorz Berendt, Ph.D. Hab – President

– Dani Dayan – Vice President

– Albert Stankowski – Vice President

– Marek Zając – Secretary

– Colette Avital

– Zanet Battinou

– Michael Berenbaum

– Sara Bloomfield

– Piotr Cywiński, PhD

– Jan Erik Dubbelman

– ks. dr Paweł Gałuszka, Rev., PhD

– András Heisler

– Christoph Heubner

– Artur Hofman

– Tomáš Kraus

– Roman Kwiatkowski

– Ronald Lauder

– Hannah Lessing

– Romani Rose

– Igor Shchupak

– Szalom Dow Ber Stambler

– Mateusz Szpytma

– Marian Turski

– Ada Willenberg

– Stanisław Zalewski


More info:  https://www.auschwitz.org/…/35-posiedzenie…

Photo by Marek Lach/ www.auschwitz.org